Summer is coming

How’s your Memorial Day holiday weekend going (if you’re here in the States)? I’ve been in retail for all of my adult working life, so I don’t recall ever having a four day weekend during this holiday. I’m still in retail, but I work in the office now, so my schedule is more flexible. I have been spending this weekend indoors working on knitting a gorgeous Game of Thrones inspired shawl I found on Ravelry.

Not only is it a gorgeous shawl that is only subtly-Game of Thrones themed, I wanted to knit it up as soon as I could because I was craving a challenge while I was stuck in rows upon rows of stockinette stitch for the -other- shawl I’m working on. Plus, I might wear this one for a wedding I am attending in July.

So here was my progress when I started this morning:

 

20160529_105542

I cast this on a week ago. The shawl is knit top-down, and separated into four themed sections, starting off with Wall, then Snow, Waves, Dragon Scales, and finishing off with Stakes and Icicles. I’ll post more on that later.

So day one I spent trying to figure out something that looked really clear on paper until I had it in my hands, totally confused. I learned how to knit from YouTube, and this cast on method didn’t have a name (or so I thought), so I couldn’t look it up. I ended up putting it down for a while and went to the library and picked up a book on sock yarn shawls. The first page I opened to had detailed instructions on this exact method! It’s called Tab Cast On, and through the pictures and looking up videos, I finally got it and moved on. The Wall section is a rib knit. Easy-peasy. Snow was next. I missed a stitch or two and threw off the pattern of the snowflakes. When I realized it, I debated ripping it back to the Wall or to start over. I ended up casting off and starting completely over. The second time went much faster. I got through the snow section, placing a lifeline just in case.

The next section, Waves was trickier. I messed up a few times and had to re-count the stitches so many times. I finally got to the next garter section with the correct number of stitches, and promptly placed another lifeline (actually I placed one after the first set of waves, seen in the picture above, and then another one after the second set of them).

This morning I started on the Dragon Scales, and I’m relived that they are a breeze. I only have to count to two on these 🙂

So there’s today’s update. Now because it is a sunny 77 degrees and pushing late afternoon, I think I should go outside and get some sunshine. Have a good rest of the weekend, everyone! What are you working on this weekend? Craft projects, home projects, day job work, or fun?

 

Leave a Reply

