coptic stitch journal

578

The other material for making things I love besides fiber is paper. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always felt a thrill with something as little as a blank notebook.

Awhile ago, I pinned a beautiful photo tutorial by Kate Elliott on a coptic bound book. Nearing the end of my current journal, I set out to use some of the decorative scrapbook papers I have laying around as well as a portion of a $2 pack of heavyweight acid-free paper I bought some months back.

I have made small practice books out of construction paper using this lovely stitch, but not a “full-size”  (roughly 6″ x 9″) journal. All in all, I had it stitched up in a few hours tonight and am very pleased with the turnout. There are minor mistakes that do not interfere with the functionality of the book (I guess I was more out-of-practice than I thought), and I know what I did wrong and how to correct them next time. Also, I don’t think I’ll need to purchase any more pre-made journals as I have for the past eight years. I think this journal cost me less than four dollars altogether.

I snapped a few photos of my progress:

584 586 588 590 592 594 596 598

The edges are nice and uneven, and the back cover is half a centimeter longer than the front, but I made it all myself and enjoyed the process very much. Click the link above to check out Kate’s bookbinding tutorials if this is of interest- they are very thorough!

2 thoughts on “coptic stitch journal

Leave a Reply

